The three bell-shaped chedis of Wat Phra Si Sanphet have practically become a symbol of Ayutthaya.

Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand

The Wat Phra Srisanpetch temple stands almost in the center of the main area of the old capital.

Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand

The Wat Phra Srisanpetch temple stands almost in the center of the main area of the old capital.

Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand

Wat Phra Si Sanphet was built by King Boromatrailokanat in 1448.

Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand

The Wat Phra Srisanpetch took its name from the large standing Buddha image erected there in 1503.

Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand

The Wat Phra Srisanpetch was originally connected directly to the royal palace (Wang Luang).

Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand

Wat Phra Srisanpetch temple is open from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.

Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand Wat Phra Srisanpetch, Ayuthaya, Thailand